Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Ethyl Perchlorate

Pages:  1  

Blaster - 8-11-2003 at 00:02

Am I the only person to have made Ethyl Perchlorate outside a laboratory? I made it in my Garage!
I used Meyer and Spormann's 1936 preparation by dry distilling Barium ethyl sulphate (also home prepared) and Barium Perchlorate. I translated the text from the German and took heed of their warnings about loosing fingertips etc.
I wore a motorbike helmet, a piece of sheet steel over my torso and twin thick leather gloves and didn't suffer any unexpected explosions!
I've been making explosives on an amateur level for many years but this stuff is just unbelievable! NCl3 and nitroglycerin pale in comparison. A single drop blew a beer can in half, again a single drop heated briefly in a spoon blew a hole through the spoon and out of my hand across the room. The lightest shock is enough to detonate it - I would say its equivalent to NCl3 in sensitivity. I made about 1ml all told but it can't be stored for long as it hydrolyses within about a week.
Fascinating stuff - I agree with them about its explosive violence, nothing I've ever made comes close! I should point out I'm an insane but trained professional chemist so don't recommend anyone has a go-I'll forward the translation to anyone who wants it though!

Madog - 8-11-2003 at 06:13

holy SHIT

youre a nut, alkyl perchlorates, NCl3, damn.

thats awesome though, thats jsut amazeing, the power. glad to hear you didnt get any unwanted explosions. thanks for shareing your experiances, its greatly apreciated.

edit: got pics? i owuld love to see a pic ofthe spoon or whateve else. if you cant provie a pic can you please provide some measuremeants of the hole and thicknessof the spoon, and the nature of the hole?

[Edited on 11/8/03 by Madog]

Blaster - 8-11-2003 at 14:53