Sciencemadness Discussion Board

fractional distillation

spoofy - 21-6-2009 at 14:04

I'm trying to do a basic fractional distillation using water since it is my first time.

The problem is that the water is not coming over to the small flask. In fact it is just condensing in the fractionating column and dripping back down .. before it even seems to make it to my 3 way adapter. Why isn't the water condensing in the condenser instead?

bfesser - 21-6-2009 at 14:05

Insulate the column. Water is high boiling, and so will condense relatively easy with only air cooling.

BromicAcid - 21-6-2009 at 14:09

Follow above suggestion to help, or add more heat, it can take a lot of energy to force your distilate over through the fractioning collumn. Also, even though you are using a fractioning column, if you're not collecting fractions, is it really a fractional distillation?

spoofy - 21-6-2009 at 15:15

Quote: Originally posted by bfesser  
Insulate the column. Water is high boiling, and so will condense relatively easy with only air cooling.

insulation was enough to push it over. thanks

Paddywhacker - 21-6-2009 at 15:52

Insulating the column will allow the distillate to come over, but it is not an ideal solution. Insulating the column will decrease it's efficiency, and that is not good for real fractionating.

I think what you are using is too large a column for the amount of liquid that you are distilling. Or perhaps, not enough heat on the flask.

watson.fawkes - 21-6-2009 at 16:01

Quote: Originally posted by Paddywhacker  
Insulating the column will allow the distillate to come over, but it is not an ideal solution. Insulating the column will decrease it's efficiency, and that is not good for real fractionating.