Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Picric acid sensitivity

ChrisWhewell - 22-12-2009 at 13:44

Around 1989 I went to an estate sale in Willowick Ohio, and in the garage were several boxes with chemical reagent amber bottles. Being a chemist I opened one of the boxes, as I had previously found a large bottle of silver nitrate crystals at a garage sale, which I reduced and sold at profit.

Well, in Willowick, the bottle I pulled out was labeled "picric acid", was about a pound in a clear glass bottle, and guess what ?

It was dry. In that state, my understanding is that its quite sensitive.

I slowly put the bottle down and attempted to inform the others at the sale to get out of the house immediately. Of course they didn't listen to a stranger.

So I left and called the fire chief. He sent the boys over, and they roped off the whole block and spent the afternoon there. No telling what all they found.

Imagine a little wrong percussion on that box - a pound of picrate is basically a pound of TNT.

As far as what you all should do in your home labs, that's up to you. If it were me, I'd avoid anything organic, other than known soap molecules. If you want to mess with other organics, sign up for some independent study credit at a college. You'll have better facilities, good guidance and access to instrumentation.