Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Vacuum from a fridge compressor

Contrabasso - 14-8-2010 at 09:13

Looking at a vacuum pump with an occasional need for pressure too, I was looking at acquiring a monoblock fridge compressor cheaply.
Would it work? would I get some reduced pressure (for distillation not thermionics!). I can find real vacuum pumps from £100 to a lot more, I can find fridge pumps from £25 new. As ever once it works cost is all!

entropy51 - 14-8-2010 at 09:24

Of course they will work! How well they work depends on what you want to use them for. I've been using one for over 40 years to pump down my vacuum dessicator. I've used it a few times for small vacuum distillations. Mine produces a vacuum better than a water aspirator, but not nearly so good as my Precision Scientific pump. I doubt you can run them continuously for a long time without overheating however.

There is a lot of useful vacuum information for amateurs on the Bell Jar website where that link is located.

peach - 14-8-2010 at 09:54

Quote: Originally posted by entropy51  
Of course they will work! How well they work depends on what you want to use them for. I've been using one for over 40 years to pump down my vacuum dessicator. I've used it a few times for small vacuum distillations. Mine produces a vacuum better than a water aspirator, but not nearly so good as my Precision Scientific pump. I doubt you can run them continuously for a long time without overheating however.

There is a lot of useful vacuum information for amateurs on the Bell Jar website where that link is located.

In a curious twist to current events, I (almost) entirely agree with entropy.

They are fine for that, and they do pull a harder vacuum than the theoretical maximum of a water jet aspirator.

I disagree, somewhat, on the duration side of things. I've had mine running for 12h straight with no problems. Stick a computer fan to it and you're even less likely to have issues.