Sciencemadness Discussion Board

nickle hydroxide cathodes

beastmaster - 10-11-2010 at 10:26

I am new to electrochemisty. I was going to venture into it and do my first experiment and try to make acitonitrile from analine. It looked straight forward enough. It calls for a nickle hydroxide cathode. Thats where my first problem has developed.
I see they are common in NiCd batteries but no one seem to sell an anode or cathode by its self. I have read several methods for making my own but because of the toxicity of nickel hydroxide I'ed rather not work with it.
I read where nickel hydroxide will form on a nickel cathode in a strong solution of NaOh. Is this a possible route? I use the search but found no info on this. Any help would be appropriated Thank you Beastmaster.

not_important - 10-11-2010 at 13:03

What are "acitonitrile" and "analine" ? What is the reference(s) for this process?

There's a lot out on the topic of nickel hydroxide electrodes. What method will work depends on the application, thus the need for references re the process. Note that high surface is typically but not always desirable, using simple sheet metal will give poor performance. One general method is to soak porous material in a solution of a nickel salt, often with small amounts of other elements for performance improvement, then heat in a reducing atmosphere to decompose the salt and convert it to porous nickel as well as to burn out the porous supporting material if it's organic. The porous nickel is then treated in one of several ways to develop the hydroxide layer, using it as a filter for a suspension of precipitated nickel hydroxide, electroplating a thin layer of powdery nickel then oxidising that in solution, and so on.

beastmaster - 11-11-2010 at 23:32

Spelling isn't one of my strong points sorry. My interest in a nickel hydroxide cathode was for possibly oxidizing Aniline to Acetonitrile. My reference though not specifically claiming to work for this is: