Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Substitute for dioxane

Baphomet - 8-1-2011 at 14:46

I'm about to run out of 1,4-dioxane which is a wonderfully toxic and versatile polar aprotic solvent that is now hard to find outside of chemical suppliers.

Are there any good substitutes? Note that I'm not just after dissolution ability but a low level of chemical reactivity. I'm here scratching my head but all the other solvents that fit the bill are even less 'OTC' than dioxane.

Ozone - 8-1-2011 at 16:56

How about glyme (1,2-dimethoxyethane)?

BromicAcid - 8-1-2011 at 20:17

How about making it? Frogfot had a good procedure for it when his site was up, still available by the wayback archive:

http://web.archive.org/web/20071011001804/www.frogfot.com/sy...

Dioxane is pretty toxic but it's all relative compared to what you're using it for obviously. When my I told my doctor I was a chemist he was worried about exposure to solvents, little did he know what nasties I use the solvents with.

garage chemist - 9-1-2011 at 08:13

There is a german synthesis of dioxane on Lambdasyn which is similar to frogfots method, but uses a mix of 225ml ethylene glycol and 6ml sulfuric acid. Quite surprising how little acid is needed to make this ether.

Whether you can find a substitute depends on the application.
Glyme and Diglyme sound good, but they're hard to get (for me at least) and can't be made at home (well, unless you're prepared to methylate glycol or diglycol with dimethyl sulfate).
Normally I would recommend dioxane as a substitute for glymes.

Baphomet - 10-1-2011 at 01:28

Thanks guys! I like that synth.. will try it out and report the results later.

maxidastier - 14-7-2011 at 09:42

Does it make sense to carry out the synthesis under lower pressure to minimize the formation of those nasty by-products?

blogfast25 - 14-7-2011 at 13:13

Quote: Originally posted by garage chemist  
There is a german synthesis of dioxane on Lambdasyn [...]