Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Fume Hood Blower Installation

Abromination - 27-12-2019 at 15:01

After much thought, I have decided on the fume-hood centrifugal blower I wish to use. The only problem with it is that it does not come with a power cord and is meant to be hard wired directly into a furnace or wood stove. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to do the wiring? I have some experience in this but not enough to be confident.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DWBC1GY/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?ps...

wg48temp9 - 28-12-2019 at 08:58

Quote: Originally posted by Abromination  
After much thought, I have decided on the fume-hood centrifugal blower I wish to use. The only problem with it is that it does not come with a power cord and is meant to be hard wired directly into a furnace or wood stove. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to do the wiring? I have some experience in this but not enough to be confident.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DWBC1GY/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?ps...

Its got a label on the side showing the power connections ???
What is it you need to know or are not confident about ?

PS: That type of blower in not recommended for a fume hood because the motor is mounted in the air flow and could ignite inflammable vapours.

[Edited on 12/28/2019 by wg48temp9]

Abromination - 28-12-2019 at 17:25

Motor is not mounted in the airflow, which is exactly why I was considering this model. This is not an in line fan, and part of the point of a centrifugal fan is to keep the motor out of the airflow. I am also aware that the label shows the power power connections, I just dont want to connect it directly to ac power without knowing first. It could be fine, but its safer to check then to waste 100 bucks.
If I wanted absolutely isolation from the motor, I would buy one with a belt like the one Magpie had. I am purposely not doing that because shipping costs at least 500 dollars for any model I have seen to my location.