Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Ballistic gel

Yankeehater2679 - 15-10-2020 at 20:45

Hello guys this is my first post, and im sry if this is the wrong section. Im just learning and ive been watching tons of videos on youtube and learning what i can. One thing ive been researching was making clear ballistic gel, and found alot of ppl use hydrogen peroxide to make the gel alot clearer tho not completly clear. It seems most proxides have this bleaching effect tho sodium hypoclorite will not lighten the gel. I was wondering if some1 could help me understand this, is it just the oxidation thats causing the bleaching effect or is it something else.

For example the recipe im referring to is the fbi standard of 2 liters of gelitn to 9 liters of warm water tho ive heard u got up the gelitin when adding hydrogen peroxide. For best restults it seems to be about 400-500 ml of hyrogen peroxide 2.5 liters of geliten and 8 liters of hot water . ik most would prefer geliten in grams but for some reason i can't find that at this moment. Im sorry.

chemist1243 - 16-10-2020 at 07:32

Quote: Originally posted by Yankeehater2679  
Hello guys this is my first post, and im sry if this is the wrong section. Im just learning and ive been watching tons of videos on youtube and learning what i can. One thing ive been researching was making clear ballistic gel, and found alot of ppl use hydrogen peroxide to make the gel alot clearer tho not completly clear. It seems most proxides have this bleaching effect tho sodium hypoclorite will not lighten the gel. I was wondering if some1 could help me understand this, is it just the oxidation thats causing the bleaching effect or is it something else.