Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Suspicious company

Pages:  1  

Limpet Chicken - 9-6-2004 at 17:31

Hi, I'm new here, and don't know if it is alright to post this, but has anybody ordered from www.chemicalsman.com
It's a UK company, the prices don't seem too bad, the selection of chemicals seems solely based on pyrotechnics, this site seems too good to be true.

I would like to hear off anybody that has had dealings with this company as it seems a little too good to be true. :(

chemoleo - 9-6-2004 at 17:39

Hmm, it looks dodgy, and the site isn't well-made. I wonder how long it will last...
The labels on the bottles look suspiciously like those from Timstar bottles, plus prices aren't exactly good.
Maybe try it out with something innocuous, and small amounts.

Limpet Chicken - 9-6-2004 at 17:52

I'm pretty new to chemistry, What do you reckon would draw the least attention?
also, i've never ordered chemicals off the net before, who are/were timstar bottles? i can't find any real reference to them on the net.

The_Davster - 9-6-2004 at 18:51

You could order something really innocuous like NaCl, K2SO4/Na2SO4 or other simple ones like this that dont really have illict uses. Try to stay away from things like drug precursors, powefull oxidizers, powdered metals on your first order from such an unwell known supplier.

Limpet Chicken - 9-6-2004 at 19:19

Have a look at their (crappy) website, they don't seem to HAVE anything even remotely innocent, I suppose if I don't hear any bad experiences from other members, I might take the risk of ordering some magnesium ribbon or turnings, as far as I know there isn't too much suspicion attatched to magnesium, I'm pretty much certain I can't be busted for it anyway :)

kryss - 10-6-2004 at 12:43