Sciencemadness Discussion Board

A new remarkable riddle: what is this dark compound?

woelen - 11-5-2013 at 12:03

I have done quite a few experiments with chlorine dioxide and some of you may have seen some web pages about this gas.

In this experiment, I studied the compound in aqueous solution. While doing so I found that the color of solutions of ClO2 (or some adduct) seems to depend strongly on pH. Usually, making ClO2 is done simply by adding excess acid to a solution of NaClO2 and then a deep yellow liquid is obtained which gives a lot of ClO2. I now did an experiment in which just a small quantity of dilute acid is added and this gives quite remarkable results! Look at the picture below. The only things used in this experiment are sodium chlorite and some acid (e.g. dilute HCl). It is remarkable that these reagents can generate such a dark compound.

The webpage describing the experiment is available at the following link:

http://woelen.homescience.net/science/chem/exps/ClO2_dark/in...

If anyone has specific knowledge about this dark compound then I would like to hear about that.

[Edited on 11-5-13 by woelen]

Adas - 11-5-2013 at 12:25

Might be that ClO2 is less soluble in highly acidic solutions. Another possibility is that it interacts somehow with the unreacted NaClO2 to make this color. What can I tell for sure is that the dark color is due to the dissolved ClO2.

blogfast25 - 11-5-2013 at 12:41

It's unusual. Even Cl2O7 is reported to be colourless.

AJKOER - 11-5-2013 at 15:55

Here is a thought, repeat the experiment by replacing the reactants with known pure products. For example, make a small amount of pure HCl in place of your current HCl which may have some Fe impurity (or, perhaps the distilled water used to wash). Make AgClO2 as your chlorite source (or, add aqueous NaOH to it and filter out Ag2O for NaClO2) by shaking a soluble aqueous Silver salt in ClO2 and quickly isolating the AgClO2:

ClO2 + H2O <---> HClO2 + HClO3