Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Storage of Elemental Mercury

subsecret - 2-8-2013 at 18:51

I hope this is a good place to post this...

My father gave me a vial of mercury that he's had for a while. I'm not sure exactly how it was used...

I'm not an expert on the storage of mercury, but here's what I did to (hopefully) ensure safety:

I placed the original plastic vial of mercury in 3 consecutive Ziploc bags. I placed this in a glass jar with a rubber seal, added some sulfur powder, and closed it. The plastic vial sits upright inside this package. The entire thing is sitting on a shelf in my cool basement.

Is this overkill at all?

Thanks, any help is appreciated.

violet sin - 2-8-2013 at 19:32

overkill? depends on how warm and tingly it makes you feel being that wrapped up...
for me, ya that is overkill. but I don't know your skill level or living situation(siblings/neighbors/ambient temp). mine is kept in a glass vial laying down in an old jewelery box( the kind a nice chain n pendant or small watch comes in). I taped some cardboard fins in place so it won't roll and set down several layers of slightly crumpled news paper for shock absorber. I have it in a place I KNOW it wont fall OR get too hot/cold. but hey that's just me, and many may(will) say it's far too little safety. but I am careful with my things and I have been adding to this same vial, in this same box for,, oohh 12 years + now.

disclaimer* I don't wanna piss off moderators here by saying that this is a safe way of storage. so I am not recommending you do the same, *at all*. but what ever makes you feel safe is the best, as long as it is at least at a minimum safety level. you seem to have cleared the threshold there :)
-violet sin-

subsecret - 2-8-2013 at 21:18

That's comforting. Thank you.

The only person besides me who works in the basement is my older brother, and he knows not to mess with the mercury. The temperature couldn't get above 80 degrees Fahrenheit in there.