Sciencemadness Discussion Board

ethylene glycol -> oxalic acid?

Intergalactic_Captain - 23-9-2004 at 14:09

This is my first post, and i apologize if it is against forum ethics. From what i've seen lurking around here, you guys are quite welcoming to newbies.

Here's my question - I've been trying to find a (relatively) simple synthesis for oxalic acid for a few weeks, but have come up with nothing. Yesterday, i had myself a good old brainfart...I was looking at the structures of etylene glycol and oxalic acid on chemfinder, and realized that they are quite similar in structure. Is there any simple way to oxidize (forgive me if it's the wrong term...i'm still an amateur in organic chem) the two carbon atoms in ethylene glycol insomuch as to replace the two existing hydrogens with one oxygen, without destroying the carbon skeleton or replacing the existing hydroxyl groups? Semi complicated proceses are no problem, it's just that my exotic precursor collection is borderline nonexistant as of yet.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Mephisto - 23-9-2004 at 14:57

Straight from Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, Sixth Edition, 2002: