Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Pronouncing Chemistry Vocab

ScienceHideout - 7-1-2014 at 10:50

I am pretty sure we have all been there. Many of us are self-taught chemists, and when we have an opportunity to speak with a professional we say stupid stuff that makes us seem unintelligent. Off the top of my head, I remember two really embarrassing instances. Once, I was presenting some personal research and I was talking about some different sugars I was using... long story short, I said di-ass-tree-o-mer instead of die-uh-stereo-mer. Another time I said hemee-ACEE-duhl instead of hemi-ASS-uh-TAHL.

I was wondering if there is any way to be certain of how to pronounce something correctly when talking about chemistry. I have tried typing it into google translate, but it sounds like it is getting read by Stephen Hawking and it lacks infliction. Most dictionaries don't include such technical words.

Any advice?

Thanks!
-SciHide

DraconicAcid - 7-1-2014 at 10:54

In my first year of college, I was taught organic chemistry by a Scotsman who pronounced carbonyl as "car-BON'l". It took me many years to join the rest of the world in saying "Car-bon-NEEL", even when I found out that even other Scottish chemists didn't use the former (I was always stubborn).

essbee - 7-1-2014 at 11:01

I always chuckle when I hear Americans talking about algae....so your problems with more dubious words are nothing to really worry about.

cyanureeves - 7-1-2014 at 18:23

americans saying algae?texans pronounce it ayl-jee.if it is pronounced all-jee or uhl-jee then there is no way i will call it that.i say algae pretty close to the way google translator says it.i thought the greek word cyanus was pronounced keeanus so i named myself cyanureeves.

Turner - 7-1-2014 at 18:39

toluene

BromicAcid - 7-1-2014 at 18:53