Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Scientific glassblowing students for hire or trades. Want something made?

theglassguy - 11-10-2014 at 12:31

Hello, there. I'm a 2nd year student in the Scientific Glass Technology program at Salem Community College, and I would like to offer the services of myself and my fellow classmates to anyone who needs glass equipment/apparatus manufactured. We are all just starting out our careers for the most part, and could easily offer services at a price (or equivalent trade) much less than common manufacturers. Our instructors all have extensive experience in the industry, and we will be running all manufactured products through them for quality control. We would all really like the opportunity to get some experience working directly with researchers. We are located in southern New Jersey.

Thank you all for taking the time to read this, and please keep doing what you do so we can keep doing what we do.

[Edited on 11-10-2014 by theglassguy]

[Edited on 12-10-2014 by theglassguy]

Chemosynthesis - 11-10-2014 at 13:42

Very cool opportunity! I am glad to see you all offer assistance.

Little_Ghost_again - 11-10-2014 at 13:47

what would a replica of philip harris fermentor vessel cost? Just the glass I mean

Like this
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Philip-Harris-Lab-Fermenter-Kit-wi...

Oxirane - 11-10-2014 at 14:10

Hmm, a reactor-type glass vessel with large opening and head with multiple(3-5) ground joint sockets would be very nice!

aga - 11-10-2014 at 14:30

Try simples : 3-neck 250ml 24/29 ground glass joint RBFs

macckone - 11-10-2014 at 14:38

Soxhlet extractor with flask
and condenser might gather some interest.

theglassguy - 11-10-2014 at 14:50

Quote: Originally posted by Little_Ghost_again  
what would a replica of philip harris fermentor vessel cost? Just the glass I mean

Like this

Thank you very much for your interest Liitle_Ghost_Again.

Looks like the vessel is typically priced at $188 USD, based on your link.