Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Synthesis of Oxygen Absorbing Crystal (from cobalt)

SupaVillain - 13-4-2015 at 07:48

Ok guys, that new crystal they discovered from cobalt is crazy useful, some number liters (prolly a few) can suck up all the oxygen out of a room and can hold three times as much as a high pressure oxygen tank.

so obviously i want to make it.

The name of it is:

"*If you must know, the chemical name of the salt is written out as {(bpbp)Co2II(NO3)}2(NH2bdc)2 * 2H2O, where “bpbp” stands for 2,6-bis(N,N-bis(2-pyridylmethyl)-aminomethyl)-4-tert-butylphenolato, and “NH2bdc2” stands for 2-amino-1,4-benzenedicarboxylato). Don’t ask us how to pronounce all that."

If you can tell me how to make this... i will make it and provide pretty pictures and advice on my experience. And if i can make a lot, I will certainly sell it to you. I have some experience with chemistry and hard determination to learn and accomplish but I start to get distant when the names are longer than my attention span LOL

even if i need industrial equipment i have a shop to make all that in

Loptr - 13-4-2015 at 07:59

Are you referring to this?

http://pubs.rsc.org/en/Content/ArticleLanding/2014/SC/C4SC01...

SupaVillain - 13-4-2015 at 08:16

Yes it is! i saw a patent but was going to find a day off from work to rent it and do a bunch of research on it. Most of the time synthesis is written out in patents, hopefully this one is too.

[Edited on 13-4-2015 by SupaVillain]

cmos6667 - 13-4-2015 at 09:44

relevant username much?! don't make me regret this ;)

Edit(woelen): Cmos6667 asked me to remove downloadable file, due to copyright issues.

[Edited on 16-6-15 by woelen]

SupaVillain - 13-4-2015 at 09:56

LOL i dont know of much evil i can do with oxygen crystals. These may prove to help much in firefighting to starve fires of oxygen and make safer and cheaper oxygen tank setups for the firefighters.

cmos6667 - 13-4-2015 at 10:01