Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Friedel-Crafts acylation of aliphatic imines derivatives of amino acids

yanzi - 16-1-2016 at 05:49

This is a unwanted potential side reaction while methylenating carbidopa (or methyldopa) in dichloromethane (with 1% tetrabutylammonium bromide catalyst + 0.1-0.2 molar sodium iodide catalyst). Is there a good chance of side reactions (polymerizations) happening if imines formed from the reaction of the amino group with DCM isn't reduced right away? In methyldopa, the methylimine formation is wanted (anticipating reduction with NaBH4), with carbidopa, it is not.

yanzi - 18-1-2016 at 18:09

Sorry -- can you move this back -- this is not a schoolwork question. I have a bachelors' degree in biochemistry.

UC235 - 18-1-2016 at 18:20

It's not that it's a schoolwork question. It's that you've provided no relevant references for the procedure.

yanzi - 18-1-2016 at 21:40

I didn't realize I needed references to discuss a well-known procedure. I'm running a standard methylenation of catechol procedure but using methyldopa (L-DOPA methylated at the alpha carbon) instead of catechol or demethylated vanillin? I am using the reference "PTC Methylenation of Catechol (Using TBAB) under https://www.erowid.org/archive/rhodium/chemistry/methylenati...

I'm modifying it with addition of sodium iodide (should have bought tetrabutylammonium iodide) based on the paper that showed that adding sodium iodide to a PTC reaction (using TBAB or TBAI) increases reaction rates and yields http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/jccs.199100038/ab... -- they mainly discussed the alkylation of benzyl chlorides into benzyl esters using a combination of TBAI and sodium iodide. I already know the methylenation reaction is mechanistically sound -- it is well-studied, I have read a variety of papers on it, etc. what I am asking is the issue of side reactions when the amino group reacts in basic conditions with activated dichloromethane to form imines.