Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Reclaimed Gold Pins from Cellphones

shootinginthedark - 17-5-2016 at 17:07

guys.
I am so not a chemist. I am not a scientist. I am an awful liberal arts major. BUT I've come into possession like 70 grams of reclaimed gold pins from inside cellphones (I think), still covered in solder. It was a parting gift from a dickhead boyfriend. THUS I really cant wait to turn this shit into gold and profit, get something out of the mess. What I have read: I need a filtration system (200ish on amazon?) and some kind of acid. I don't know where to get this acid, I am terrified to work with acid. I don't know if thats even correct or if thats the best way to do it. SO if one of your guys would take pity on me and walk me thru this or, better yet, if you're in SoCal and you can just, like, do it for me, I'd reward? Baked goods? Idk. I keep looking at this gold just sitting and it's driving me nuts so here I am.
Thanks in advance

j_sum1 - 17-5-2016 at 17:18

This is probably what you want:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ouYW_7-Njbs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUxJ0YhATxM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAhh6p4E6-I

No nasty chemicals here -- at least nothing that you would be anxious about handling.

Have fun!

Twospoons - 17-5-2016 at 18:31

You do realise that those pins are merely plated with gold, not solid - with said plating likely being a mere 20 um thick or thereabouts. So your 70g of pins probably contains under 1/10 of a gram of gold. Which is about four bucks worth.

You'd do better to put them up on ebay, and let someone else do all the hard work!

[Edited on 18-5-2016 by Twospoons]

shootinginthedark - 17-5-2016 at 19:59

Quote: Originally posted by Twospoons  
You do realise that those pins are merely plated with gold, not solid - with said plating likely being a mere 20 um thick or thereabouts. So your 70g of pins probably contains under 1/10 of a gram of gold. Which is about four bucks worth.