Sciencemadness Discussion Board

electrolysis basics

exodia - 24-12-2016 at 19:28

Hi there, I'm starting to get interested in proper electrolysis, and I'm not quite sure were to start from.

I have looked in the library for info (and in the forum) just to get into the basics, nothing experimental yet (like what do you want your volts for, or your amperes etc) trying to expand my electrical and technical knowledge, basically I know how the electrolysis works from a chemical point of view, but I'm lost when it comes to currents and set ups.

so basically id appreciate some input in:
links or write ups with the basics, and were do I start with the power supply (I have seen some people having really good results with the computer power supplies) but I have not got a clue how to convert this, I was looking more into something I can plug into the wall and will let me regulate Volts and Amperage.

Thank you very much.

Tsjerk - 25-12-2016 at 00:25

Cool, I'm also not an expert but I'm also trying to learn. For the power supply I advise to look for a DC supplier with adjustable voltage and a upper limit amperage setting. There will be an internal resistance which will regulate the amperage as long as the resistance in the cell is lower.

Normally you never need more than five volts in electrolysis, I found a new 35 euro power supply with 0-30 volts, maximum upper limit of 5A on amazon. Make sure you can also adjust the voltage in the 0-2 volt range as many electrode materials depend on exact voltage in this range for there functionality.

PC power supplies are fine , but usually only give 5 or 12 volts and the amperage depends on the cell resistance (which can and will change during the experiment).

It will be important to regulate this amperage as electrodes have a maximum amperage output/cm2.

[Edited on 25-12-2016 by Tsjerk]

[Edited on 25-12-2016 by Tsjerk]

violet sin - 26-12-2016 at 00:32