Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Started a new series on youtube, and I would love your thoughts!

Fidelmios - 3-2-2017 at 19:40

Hey all,

So my series that I decided to make it transforming an old room into a lab to do various experiments and film in. The thing that I want from you all is feedback, and advice. I'm a novice in these areas (filmmaking, homechemistry, lab construction) and I have a strong feeling that a forum filled with such amazing chemists could help me out.

https://youtu.be/sqJKrV8dNs8 here is my first episode where I just talk about the plans. Also, I want to name this lab, so I am currently running a contest to find the best name for it, chosen by people who view the video.

j_sum1 - 3-2-2017 at 20:05

Seriously. You should name it yourself to reflect your personality, your aspirations and what you intend the lab to become and to accomplish.

Sulaiman - 3-2-2017 at 23:43

funds permitting, internal plasterboard cladding, and ideally a thermally insulating wool/foam in the cavity formed,
would give a 'clean' background for videography,
and help keep you, your experiments, and your stored chemicals,
in a nicer temperature range.
This would also give a degree of fire resistance, sound insulation
and protect the iron from HCl fumes etc.
At least a nice coat of paint :P

I would consider keeping the windows as windows/emergency ventilation/exit ... you never know :P
A separate hole for venting the fume cupboard gives more choices in location
... maybe not blocking access to the tank ?

IF you could make the door open outwards from the lab it would
.. make emergency exit easier
.. reduce the likelihood of accidents
.. give a little more usable space

Consider blinds, shutters etc. for the windows, for security/privacy/lighting control.

Good videos require good lighting, and a clean background.

P.S. I do not have a fume cupboard, but I have given some thoughts to making one,
I think that hobby fume cupboards should;
. have a sink with running water