Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Decided on a goal - chloramphenicol.

PirateDocBrown - 9-2-2017 at 20:51

I have been watching NurdRage's total synthesis on pyrimethamine with great interest and admiration. Chemplayer, Dougslab, and several others as well.

I decided to do something similar, and document it for online video.

I have zero experience making videos, I don't even own a camera that's not part of my phone (yet), but hey, life is a learning experience.

But I do know chemistry, and have started to create a lab.

But what to make in it? Well, I read some books, the "1632" series, where an entire town is moved back in time. They had limited resources, but realized that antibiotics were one of the defining technologies of the modern era. They decided to make chloramphenicol, bootstrapping from 17th century technology.

This would be a highly useful skill in the event of a catastrophe that leads to a post-apocalyptic world. So why not perfect it?

I've sketched a total synthesis from mostly OTC sources, and am looking for just a few more pieces of the puzzle.

The lab still needs work, a fume hood must be built, and the vacuum pump situation needs to be resolved. I continue to find OTC chemicals.

And of course, I need to learn how to do video production. I'm looking at a time horizon of at least a year or two to begin publication.

I welcome input.

j_sum1 - 9-2-2017 at 21:28

This looks like a challenge.

It is way out of my league but I will follow with interest.
As for videography, it sounds like you and I are in the same place: building a lab, buying a camera, learning the ropes in the field of editing and posting some stuff online. My target date is September. I have a growing number of projects in mind.

More power to you!

PirateDocBrown - 10-2-2017 at 02:11

Well, I'm going to aim at racemic synthesis at first, and worry about stereochemistry after.