Sciencemadness Discussion Board

L-tryptophan decarboxylation

Pages:  1  

L6L - 29-5-2007 at 18:05

to start off, i would like to tell you that i have no formal background or education in chemistry, aside from a basic high school chemistry course (i'm in high school). so allow myself to apologize in advance if i post some bad chemistry. i'm committed to improving however.

OK, i am following a synthesis in which L-tryptophan is decarboxylated with a ketone catalyst to yield tryptamine. what i did was this: i put 35g of L-tryptophan in a 500mL RBF with 130mL of xylene as solvent. i added about 4 grams of MEK. i then turned on the magnetic stirrer (hotplate/stirrer combo), and held this mixture at reflux for 9 hours. the temperature of the oil bath was 135 - 145 the entire time. once the 9 hours had finished, i left the temperature at what it was, but just removed the liebig condenser. during this time, i took out the spinbar and let the xylene evaporate. i was now left with (hopefully) decarboxylated product.

this is where i am having trouble. i cannot seem to find much information about the tryptamine compound! the synthesis tells me to dissolve the contents of the flask in DCM, followed by a wash with sodium bicarbonate solution and drying with MgSO4.

where can i find information on tryptamines solubility in DCM? or other similar, useful information?
it seems like the remaining flask contents will require at least a liter of DCM for it to be dissolved.

and yeah, i'm having my doubts on whether the reaction even went well. i couldn't tell if the bubbling was from the xylene evaporating or CO2 being formed. any pointers you guys can give me would be great.

Furch - 30-5-2007 at 02:48

You should've somehow tried to measure the gas evolution using hoses, plugs, water baths and water filled upside-down beakers and some other cool gadgets. That way you could at least tell for sure that the stuff has reacted.