Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Chloroacetone by Electrolysis

DDTea - 14-9-2003 at 18:08

Alright. I am very new to electrochemistry...new as in, tonight is the first time it has really interested me :P.

So, please be gentle with the technobabble for poor Samosa.

I have read that Chloroacetone was first prepared by Electrolysing a mixture of Acetone and Hydrochloric Acid. Now, I have heard of Electrolysing HCl and HF for organic substitutions, such as in Chloroacetic Acid.

But now what I want to know is, how quickly does this reaction take place- has anybody tried it? What power supply what I need? What kind of electrodes should I use? Are the yields very good?

I remember reading on this forum about someone who made Chloroacetone (i don't remember by what method), but I cannot remember which thread it was in...

EDIT: Can Sodium Chloride be used instead of HCl? If so, I imagine it would be gentler on the equipment used. Also, are there any measures that should be taken to avoid overchlorination of the Acetone? If there aren't, it's alright- the reactants are so cheap that I wouldn't care much :)

[Edited on 9-15-03 by Samosa]

a_bab - 14-9-2003 at 23:32

Well, firstly, the idea is to get chlorine, and with NaCl electrolysis you'll get theoreticaly. But, I'm not sure if it'll stay dissolved when you'll add the acetone, as it might precipitate out (same phenomena involved like in the CIA method for BP production)

I did made several times bromoacetone using pure bromine and pure acetone; it's very simple and effective.

I made NCl3 by electrolising a solution of ammonium chloride, and I used C electrodes and it went OK; since Cl is produced in the reaction aswell, I'd say to use carbon electrodes, as Pt is waaay too expensive.

The speed can be calculated very easy, but my guess is that you'll get a few grams/hour, with a 5 A source.

DDTea - 15-9-2003 at 02:36