Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Distillation: retort vs. flask + condenser
Gearhead_Shem_Tov
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 1-10-2008 at 19:46
Distillation: retort vs. flask + condenser

I'm just getting into amateur chemistry. On my short list of projects to do is making silver nitrate. I would like to make the nitric acid first since I have sulfuric acid and potassium nitrate already to hand.

My question is this: which distillation setup would be preferable for acid production, a dedicated retort or a lashup of a RB flask and a separate condenser? What are the advantages of one over the other?

I don't own any tapered ground glass equipment, just a few ordinary borosilicate flasks, so I would need to do something with a teflon-wrapped rubber stopper if I went with a separate condenser.

Thanks!

-Bobby
not_important
International Hazard

[*] posted on 1-10-2008 at 20:20

A retort, or an all glass still, is better for something like nitric - both corrosive acid and an oxidiser.

If by "Teflon wrapped" you mean the white plumbing Teflon tape , you might not be happy. That tape is fairly porous, it's meant to be compacted in the threads of plumbing joints. The yellow or red tapes, approved for gas line use, are better.

An old method for dealing with such distillations was to soak cork stoppers in waterglass, or paint them with waterglass after sticking the glass parts through their homes and before inserting into the flask opening. But glass joints, with Teflon sleeves or using thick phosphoric (sometimes mixed with bentonite) on the joints, are the best way to go.
Gearhead_Shem_Tov
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 1-10-2008 at 20:35

Quote:
Originally posted by not_important
A retort, or an all glass still, is better for something like nitric - both corrosive acid and an oxidiser.