Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Column Chromatography(liquid) Noob
smaerd
International Hazard

Mood: hmm...

wink.gif posted on 23-1-2010 at 16:50
Column Chromatography(liquid) Noob

(Hopefully this is in the right section of the board)

So I am a total noob to chromatography but I am curious about how it all works.

So silica is polar?

How does someone consider the proper solvent's to mix for a binary solvent/eluent?

Say the XlogP3 of one of the chemicals in the compound that someone wanted separate was 1.5, and the other was 2.5 .

It was recommended to use EtOAc and MeOH(ratio is unknown). EtOAc seems to be fairly hard to obtain, so I was hoping to switch it out with a solvent that is similar and just adjust the Methanol to 'fix' the change. Any idea what a good way to approach this would be?

So when using a polar oriented binary solvent and trying to separate polar compounds(redundant but trying to be clear with my limited knowledge), the most polar of the compounds will elute last?

Any tips, tricks, information, or things I should know would be so, so amazing :).:D
Xenoid
National Hazard

Mood: Comfortably Numb

[*] posted on 23-1-2010 at 18:36

Well, I don't know anything much about chromatography, but after a few minutes on Google I think I know more than you!

I feel you should study some of the lecture courses on chromatography that are freely available. For example here:

http://orgchem.colorado.edu/hndbksupport/chrom.html

Why are you so fixated on ethyl acetate when other solvents/solvent mixes can be used, for example hexane (camping stove fuel) and acetone or alcohol all available cheaply at a hardware store. The tables below should give you some idea. I gather solvent choice is "suck it and see" or "hit and miss", see what works best.