Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Looking for a Job
Texium
Administrator

Mood: PhD candidate!

[*] posted on 27-3-2019 at 13:02
Looking for a Job

This May, I will be graduating with a BS in Chemistry. Afterwards, my current plan is to continue working in the research lab that I have been in since I was a freshman for a year, full time, to finish my current research. I plan to apply to PhD programs this fall for the following year.

However, as great as it would be to get a PhD, the idea of another five years of school is rather daunting. I’ve come to realize that if it was possible, I would prefer to find a full time job in the private sector instead—if I could find one that would be both intellectually stimulating, and accepting of one without more formal qualifications than a bachelor’s degree.

So I’m posting today to see if there is anyone currently or formerly in the industry who might have, or at least know of, a job opportunity for an enthusiastic, young organic chemist who is ready and willing to move across country if necessary. I have three years of research experience in an academic research lab, in which I have trained other student researchers (including grad students) and been made Laboratory Safety Officer. My responsibilities with this position have entailed preparing SOPs for the more hazardous chemicals present in our lab, organizing and color-coding all of our chemicals by hazard class, and instructing other students in lab safety and hygiene. My university has awarded me with the titles of Outstanding Chemistry Junior and Outstanding Chemistry Senior in the past two years. And as you all know, I have been studying chemistry on my own time since 2013, and have been passionate about the subject as long as I can remember. Overall, my point is that I am not the average Joe with a BS in Chemistry. If there is any interest, I can provide a full resume and strong letters of recommendation from my PI and other professors who know me.