Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Does anyone know how to use one of these?
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-8-2019 at 04:21
Does anyone know how to use one of these?


Ok so here's my other mantle thats all in chinese.ive plugged it in and it didn't blow up so that's a good thing next I turned the dial up to half and waited.nothing happened it didn't even get warm.if anyone knows how to operate these and can tell me what I am doing wrong that would be great.do I need to plug the temperature probe in to get it to work or what?

IMG_20190811_212642.jpg - 378kB

[Edited on 11-8-2019 by draculic acid69]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-8-2019 at 04:43


It's a Tianjin taisite 98-1-C.for some reason I can't post pictures all of a sudden
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Sulaiman
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 2676
Registered: 8-2-2015
Location: Holiday in Malaysia
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-8-2019 at 06:02


Plug in the temperature probe and put the probe in a flask of water in the mantle.




CAUTION : Hobby Chemist, not Professional or even Amateur
(suffering from separation of me and my chemistry stuff)
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Ubya
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 864
Registered: 23-11-2017
Location: Rome-Italy
Member Is Offline

Mood: I'm a maddo scientisto!!!

[*] posted on 11-8-2019 at 07:11


or if you don't have the probe, use a dummy resistor, check the datasheet of your mantle and look for the temperature probe, it should be a thermistor and not a thermocouple(if it is a TC, i don't know how to fool it), every thermistor has a default resistance at a specific temperatures, ofter 10kOhm at RT, if this is the case, jam a 10kOhm resistor in the right pins and turn on the mantle




---------------------------------------------------------------------
feel free to correct my grammar, or any mistakes i make
---------------------------------------------------------------------
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-8-2019 at 21:50


Works with the temperature probe fine.i just need to know how corrosion resistant the probe is?do I need to encase it in glass for acids and alkali?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Tsjerk
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 1694
Registered: 20-4-2005
Location: Netherlands
Member Is Offline

Mood: Mood

[*] posted on 12-8-2019 at 23:14


What is the probe made of?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-8-2019 at 23:47


Don't know

[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Ubya
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 864
Registered: 23-11-2017
Location: Rome-Italy
Member Is Offline

Mood: I'm a maddo scientisto!!!

[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 00:09


Quote: Originally posted by draculic acid69  
Don't know

[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]

can you post a picture of it at least?





---------------------------------------------------------------------
feel free to correct my grammar, or any mistakes i make
---------------------------------------------------------------------
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 05:00
Here's a pic




Screenshot_20190813-225456.png - 252kB

Screenshot_20190813-225456.png - 252kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Sulaiman
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 2676
Registered: 8-2-2015
Location: Holiday in Malaysia
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 05:05


Looks like a stainless steel sheathed probe.

Check chemical compatibility, e.g. https://www.calpaclab.com/stainless-steel-chemical-compatibi...




CAUTION : Hobby Chemist, not Professional or even Amateur
(suffering from separation of me and my chemistry stuff)
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 05:45


Thanks that helps a bit I think.i think when using anything caustic I'll put the probe between the flask and mantle fabric.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Ubya
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 864
Registered: 23-11-2017
Location: Rome-Italy
Member Is Offline

Mood: I'm a maddo scientisto!!!

[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 06:47


Quote: Originally posted by draculic acid69  
Thanks that helps a bit I think.i think when using anything caustic I'll put the probe between the flask and mantle fabric.


SS is pretty resistant to bases, not so much to acids, so if you are working with caustic solutions you can use the probe.
using the proble between the flask and the mantle is not going to give the real temperature of the flask's inside, the difference can be pretty high





---------------------------------------------------------------------
feel free to correct my grammar, or any mistakes i make
---------------------------------------------------------------------
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Tsjerk
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 1694
Registered: 20-4-2005
Location: Netherlands
Member Is Offline

Mood: Mood

[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 07:43


Stainless steel cooking pans easily handle boiling 30% NaOH, but are corroded in seconds by cold diluted sulfuric acid.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 08:08



I know the temp difference can be quite wide but when I'm heating something that would eat the probe what can I possibly do.i the mantle doesn't work with out the probe so I gotta sit it somewhere.weird thing is the knob that would usually be the temperature control doesn't really seem to change the temp.temp is programmed using the weird little number clicker thing then the temperature of the probe comes up on the display what the dial is for I don't know.





Screenshot_20190814-020623.png - 158kB

[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]

[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]

[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]

Screenshot_20190814-022507.png - 150kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 08:36


Is anyone else having trouble uploading photos.i type what iwan select the fotos click post reply and then it just freezes.the four fotos above took about 60 attempts to post.no FOTO no probs.the only reason the above 3 went through is because instead of trying to post the photo from the camera file I took screenshots of the pics and tried uploading them.still froze up but after closing the window and reopening it they appeared somehow.thats why there's two pix of the probe.this wasn't happening a week ago.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Ubya
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 864
Registered: 23-11-2017
Location: Rome-Italy
Member Is Offline

Mood: I'm a maddo scientisto!!!

[*] posted on 13-8-2019 at 14:13


Quote: Originally posted by draculic acid69  

I know the temp difference can be quite wide but when I'm heating something that would eat the probe what can I possibly do.i the mantle doesn't work with out the probe so I gotta sit it somewhere.weird thing is the knob that would usually be the temperature control doesn't really seem to change the temp.temp is programmed using the weird little number clicker thing then the temperature of the probe comes up on the display what the dial is for I don't know.


if you have glass tubing of the right diameter, flame seal one end, cut the piece to length and use it as a sleeve for your probe. if you don't have the right tubing you could use a small diameter test tube filled with mineral oil to get better xontact with the walls of the glass




[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]

[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]

[Edited on 13-8-2019 by draculic acid69]





---------------------------------------------------------------------
feel free to correct my grammar, or any mistakes i make
---------------------------------------------------------------------
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 14-8-2019 at 02:50


Yesterday when I was looking for pictures of temp probes I seen what I think was a teflon sleeve for the probes.also just found some PTFE heat shrink tubing but I'm not sure how to seal the immersed end
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 04:26
Heating Mantle is overheating


This mantle is causing problems bcoz even when the number dial (which I'm guessing is how u set the temperature) is set to 150 and I wedge the temperature probe in between the mantle fabric and the flask the display (my guess is that it's a temperature display) says 135 and sits around there but my glass thermometer
says it's 150~ish but when the display goes up to 150 the glass thermometer is at like 170-220.this thing just goes crazy and overheats.even when I turn the dial down to 140 it still hangs over that temp then just rises up to 200'c or more.for something that is supposed to be able to maintain a steady temp this thing sucks.is it I'm doing something wrong or is it the mantle? I think it's a pid type thing but I'm not sure.it has a thermostat that clicks on and off constantly.it needs to be calibrated somehow but I don't think it can be modified.

[Edited on 29-10-2019 by draculic acid69]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
G-Coupled
Hazard to Others
***




Posts: 146
Registered: 9-3-2017
Member Is Offline

Mood: Slightly triturated

[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 05:28


There will likely be some pots somewhere, maybe on the board inside that will allow calibration.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 06:11


Could it be the probe? Or is it the definitely the board?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
G-Coupled
Hazard to Others
***




Posts: 146
Registered: 9-3-2017
Member Is Offline

Mood: Slightly triturated

[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 06:19


Yeah, maybe the probe is giving a bum reading - got a multimeter to check it?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
monolithic
Hazard to Others
***




Posts: 162
Registered: 5-3-2018
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 06:23


Quote: Originally posted by draculic acid69  
This mantle is causing problems bcoz even when the number dial (which I'm guessing is how u set the temperature) is set to 150 and I wedge the temperature probe in between the mantle fabric and the flask the display (my guess is that it's a temperature display) says 135 and sits around there but my glass thermometer
says it's 150~ish but when the display goes up to 150 the glass thermometer is at like 170-220.this thing just goes crazy and overheats.even when I turn the dial down to 140 it still hangs over that temp then just rises up to 200'c or more.for something that is supposed to be able to maintain a steady temp this thing sucks.is it I'm doing something wrong or is it the mantle? I think it's a pid type thing but I'm not sure.it has a thermostat that clicks on and off constantly.it needs to be calibrated somehow but I don't think it can be modified.

[Edited on 29-10-2019 by draculic acid69]


Can you test it with a flask full of water, with the probe submerged in the water?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Praxichys
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 1022
Registered: 31-7-2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Member Is Offline

Mood: Coprecipitated

[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 11:57


Quote: Originally posted by G-Coupled  
Yeah, maybe the probe is giving a bum reading
Thus proving I am still a 14 year old trapped in a grown man's body.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
G-Coupled
Hazard to Others
***




Posts: 146
Registered: 9-3-2017
Member Is Offline

Mood: Slightly triturated

[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 14:15


Quote: Originally posted by Praxichys  
Quote: Originally posted by G-Coupled  
Yeah, maybe the probe is giving a bum reading
Thus proving I am still a 14 year old trapped in a grown man's body.


lmao - or yeah, calibrate it with a container of water, as monolothic suggested.

[Edited on 29-10-2019 by G-Coupled]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
draculic acid69
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 533
Registered: 2-8-2018
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 29-10-2019 at 20:00


Ill try the boiling water when I've got an empty flask. What's the knob with rst written on it for?
I'm thinking it means rheostat.but what's it there for if you can set the temperature with the number wheel thing?

[Edited on 30-10-2019 by draculic acid69]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
 Pages:  1  

  Go To Top