Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: HD dismantle and repair
yobbo II
National Hazard
****




Posts: 476
Registered: 28-3-2016
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 22-8-2019 at 10:32
HD dismantle and repair


Attempting to repair a malfunctioning HD. The laptop gives a IDE Zero error and the whole thing sits there making a clicking noise. I believe the internals of the HD are the problem as the laptop got a fall.
I was going to purchase a working HD that is the exact same as the broken one and simple swap over the platter (there is only one platter). Sounds simple!. Will this work assuming that the platter is not scraped etc.
I have made a 'clean box', and am using a vacuum cleaner together with a HEPA filter, to work in (as described somewhere or other on Utube).
Anyone know any books on HD repair. They seem to be few and far between.

Thanks,

Yobbo
View user's profile View All Posts By User
pneumatician
Hazard to Others
***




Posts: 246
Registered: 27-5-2013
Location: Catalonia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Anar fent.

[*] posted on 10-1-2021 at 15:25


https://forum.hddguru.com/
View user's profile View All Posts By User
yobbo II
National Hazard
****




Posts: 476
Registered: 28-3-2016
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 12-1-2021 at 13:51


Thanks,

I managed to get the HD fixed
View user's profile View All Posts By User
violet sin
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 1311
Registered: 2-9-2012
Location: Back yard staring at stars
Member Is Offline

Mood: Good

[*] posted on 12-1-2021 at 14:31


You replaced the platter into another working HD in home made hepa filter glove box ... And it worked!? No kidding

That's fantastic, well done

Edited because typing on phones is frustrating

[Edited on 12-1-2021 by violet sin]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
yobbo II
National Hazard
****




Posts: 476
Registered: 28-3-2016
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 16-1-2021 at 18:47



Yes. I did not get the drive to 'work' perfectly. I just took the data I wanted and ran.
It would not load windows (which was on the disk).
I put it into a desktop as a second drive. This machine (the first disk) ran DOS and I could simply copy files I wanted (most of them anyways).
It would be foolish to start to actually -use- the drive.
I had to purchase about 4 drives before I actually got the disk transferred successfully as I was breaking the heads. You would need to purchase a pair of dental loupes so that you can work at the job comfortably. I rigged up a microscope (about 20x) to work at it. The drive was a single platter type which made it easy.
There is software out there for scanning and recovering data from drives that have the platters damaged or changed but it is very expensive and complicated

Yob
View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top