Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Obtaining chemicals from chem suppliers or?
DongCling
Harmless

Mood: cock and ball torture

[*] posted on 1-9-2019 at 17:04
Obtaining chemicals from chem suppliers or?

I'm almost certain that this topic was active many times before but here I am :) I'm really starting to have troubles for the past few months because I'm running low on chemicals. I used to work as an orgo chem project associate but I had very tight schedules on college so I eventually stopped working there (big mistake). Now having no other institution on hand (Faculty of Medicine is poorly supplied, at least my department), I really feel like my hands are tied. Not to mention how our law is stupidly strict with import/export of basic things, I've had some situations when they would return some random cables I ordered online with no further explanation. So... EBay and other sites fall out too. The only slim hope is to ask some kind of company or institution to order chemicals for me but that is highly doubtful. It hurts so bad to see my very well supplied lab rotting like this, because it was almost a decade long investment (professional fume hood, a lot of glassware, lab furniture etc..)What about you guys? How you coped with this situation? How you ended up ordering from Sigma, Fischer, etc, because I've seen people having research chemicals. Thanks for all of your attention :)

Meet you at Obscene Extreme festival :)
teodor
National Hazard

[*] posted on 2-9-2019 at 01:08

It really depends on chemicals. There is no general answer. As far as I remember (I was reading this forum for last year) the discussion goes better after publishing which chemicals we are talking about.
DongCling
Harmless

[*] posted on 2-9-2019 at 04:00