Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Cellulose dissolving in the nitrating bath
Meal
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 20-4-2011 at 14:06
Cellulose dissolving in the nitrating bath

This is my first attempt at nitration. I mixed 50 mL of sulfuric acid (pink viscous liquid, concentration unknown but bottle says it's concentrated) with 15 grams of food-grade KNO3. The color turned to a light orange.

I then added cotton balls and pieces of white printing paper into the nitrating bath. The cellulose stayed intact at first but then went into solution. The paper didn't dissolve though. There were no brown vapors of nitric oxides present but I could smell them upon stirring. I removed the paper after 20 minutes.

I took the paper out and added more cotton to the nitrating bath. The cotton very quickly dissolved into solution and it turned an opaque orange. Although the beaker was cold to the touch, It started to emit white fumes that smelled acidic and I could smell SO2 as well. I doused it in a water bath and neutralized with baking soda, which turned it light green and nothing went out of solution.

What's happening here?
symboom
International Hazard

Mood: Doing science while it is still legal since 2010

[*] posted on 20-4-2011 at 14:33

that is interesting never heard that happening before there are a few things that devolve cellulose i know of tetraaminecopper dihydroxide could dissolve cellulose but paper has other things in it cotton is pretty much 99% cellulose
Bot0nist
International Hazard

Mood: Streching my cotyledons.

[*] posted on 20-4-2011 at 14:39