Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Best way to heat a round bottom flask with a hotplate stirrer
zeropoint
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 31-10-2011 at 20:24
Best way to heat a round bottom flask with a hotplate stirrer

I'm a brand new chemistry hobbyist with newly acquired glassware and amateur lab equipment...and I'd like some advice on the best way to effectively channel the heat from my hotplate stirrer (Scilogex MS-H-S) to a 500 to 2000 mL RBF (while ultimately retaining the stirrer functionality).

For my very first experiment, I attempted to distill a 70% ethanol solution into a more concentrated solution. I followed the instructions given by the book, "The Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments" by Robert Bruce Thompson.

I bought an 4qt aluminum saucepan from Target (the smallest one they had), filled it up a quarter of the way with some water, and suspended a 1000 mL RBF with 200 mL of 70% Ethanol inside so it was dipping into the water about where the solution level inside was. Then I turned on my hotplate...and kept turning up the heat...but the heating took so long that I gave up figuring that the surface area of the pot and the water inside was too much for the small hotplate to overcome.

So I switched it out with a 1QT stainless steel saucepan that I had in the kitchen. This snugly fit the 1000 mL RBF and worked effectively at heating up the water and eventually the solution inside the suspended flask.

BUT...obviously, this stainless steel solution wouldn't be ideal if I wanted to use a magnetic stirbar (required by some future experiments I'd like to try). Is it simply a case of me finding the right sized 1QT or 2QT aluminum saucepan? Or can you suggest a more elegant and lab-specific item and/or technique?

Thanks in advance for your help and patience.
fledarmus
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 1-11-2011 at 03:28