Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Making t-butanol
vmelkon
National Hazard

Mood: autoerotic asphyxiation

[*] posted on 4-1-2012 at 07:22
Making t-butanol

hi, I am a noob when it comes to organic chemistry but I'm willing to learn.

I was looking at wikipedia and also a organic chem textbook.
Wikipedia doesn't provide a recipe and I don't have those startup chemicals.
And as for my textbook, I don't know if it is a theoretical exercise or not.

According to my book, you can use a grignard reagent.
You need 2-propanol. You need methanol.

I'm guessing you need to do
methanol + HBr => CH3Br (bromomethane)

and then to make the grignard reagent :
CH3Br + Mg => CH3MgBr

and then add grignard reagent to 2-propanol :
2-propanol => t-butanol

Does any of that make sense (the CH3 would attach itself to the 2nd carbon on 2-propanol)? Are the steps above documented somewhere properly?

The 2-propanol route sounds interesting since I have it in 99% form.

[Edited on 4-1-2012 by vmelkon]
Lambda-Eyde
National Hazard

Mood: Cleaved

[*] posted on 4-1-2012 at 07:32

The grignard reagent would react with 2-propanone, acetone. Also, methyl bromide is a gas. Methyl iodide would be a much better choice. If you are a "noob" to organic chemistry, maybe the Grignard reaction isn't the best place to start. ;)

This just in: 95,5 % of the world population lives outside the USA
You should really listen to ABBA
Please drop by our IRC channel: #sciencemadness @ irc.efnet.org
entropy51
Gone, but not forgotten

Mood: Fissile

[*] posted on 4-1-2012 at 07:43

Quote: Originally posted by Lambda-Eyde  
The grignard reagent would react with 2-propanone, acetone. Also, methyl bromide is a gas. Methyl iodide would be a much better choice. If you are a "noob" to organic chemistry, maybe the Grignard reaction isn't the best place to start. ;)