Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Chemistry and Math for Pharmacy school
Drax
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 4-9-2004 at 20:09
Chemistry and Math for Pharmacy school

I want to be a pharmacist, but I have never been that good in math. I know that in chemistry you will have to calculate things in chemical reactions, but I don't know how complicated it gets. I have to take calculus, chemistry, biology, and two other courses in university before pharmacy school. I want to know how good at math I will have to be, and how much math is involved in chemistry.
Hermes_Trismegistus
National Hazard

Mood: conformation:ga

[*] posted on 4-9-2004 at 20:34
Begin now.

Math is the language of science. It is also my achilles heel, I am currently studying on my own, every day.

I can wholeheartedly recommend "how to calculate quickly" by henry sticker, it is a course in speed arithmetic.

"how to solve word problems in algebra" by mildred and tim johnson. It has helped immensely in my ability to couch ideas and concepts into algebraic equations.

In fact, that's how I would define Algebra, as the ability to translate the spoken word into mathematical figures, and from there begin to manipulate them.

I am also running through a book on mastering calculus but I cannot find it right this second. I'll post it's title later.

Arguing on the internet is like running in the special olympics; even if you win: you\'re still retarded.
Polverone
Now celebrating 21 years of madness

Mood: Waiting for spring

[*] posted on 4-9-2004 at 22:26

If you are just taking general and organic chemistry, you honestly don't need that much math. Take a look at the problems in textbooks. Solid competence in high school algebra should cover most problems, math-wise. I've seen many students freeze up because they had to derive new formulas from given/memorized formulas to solve a problem. Be sure you can manipulate formulas, not just remember them!