Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Revisit to Zealot's total synthesis of Ketamine
mardyart
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-10-2013 at 18:52
Revisit to Zealot's total synthesis of Ketamine

For years I've read through ZTSK on erowid. At first I really didn't understand what I was reading. But I started researching every chemical and every step of each process. And now I feel like I know enough to ask about some of the things I still don't understand.

1. In the first synthesis of o-Chlorobenzoic Acid, it's stated that the o-Bromobenzoic Acid analog can be obtained substituting CuCl for CuBr. But then in the second synthesis of o-Chlorobenzonitrile, the o-Bromobenzonitrile analog requires 50g o-Bromobenzamide. I'm not an expert but aren't o-Bromobenzoic Acid and o-Bromobenzamide two different compunds? If this is the case, why do we need to synth o-Bromobenzoic Acid? Or is there an omitted synthesis for the benzamide from the benzoic acid?

2. In the synthesis of o-Chlorobenzonitrile it states to mix sodium hydroxide, the benzoic acid and zinc sulphate. In this step, what is the name for the reaction product? I have been researching and I think it's a Zinc Carboxylate, but you tell me.

It then states to mix the precipitate with lead(ii) thiocyanate and to heat until gas is evolved and distilled. I've been reading about thiocyanates and found that most give off toxic fumes when heated to decomposition. If one were to follow this process, wouldn't it just create a deadly gas?

3. It states that the methylamine freebase can be obtained by dripping a saturated solution of the hydrochloride over sodium hydroxide and then dried through NaOH. Can anyone be more detailed on this process?

4. Carbon Tetrachloride and Undecane are unavailable now. What are acceptable substitutions?