Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: How to store calcium
Prasedy
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 25-2-2014 at 07:41
How to store calcium

I bought calcium. The drum is about 30 cm in height. For this 2,6kg (2kg Ca) drum I paid 9 Eur. Urgently I must to isolate this from oxygen. For a half of year the drum stayed vice versa and much of oil get out, and smeared on 10kg of Nickel acetate. Visually I can not see any smallest holes. Question is - is it safe to open the drum , - how fast will oxygen penetrate the calcium? I have no experience with working with Calcium. And what kind of mineral oils does not oxidize the calcium? On Internet shop I found pile of various Oils, I dot know what to choose. When I'll open that drum I'd want to have a oil on hand, I hope the fire will not start :). I have no slightest notion whats inside . When shaking on sound there is much of big piece metalic collisions. . Anyway its strange if the drum is made in 1968 and not oxidized so far.
http://lejup.lv/f/530cb88d5c2e0zbkqxpk1393342605.jpg
IrC
International Hazard

Mood: Discovering

[*] posted on 25-2-2014 at 08:11