Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: prepration of 1,6-dibromohexane
aroma princess
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 25-8-2014 at 20:23
prepration of 1,6-dibromohexane

Dear all...:) I am a newbie here...I am trying to synthesize 1,6-dibromohexane using 1,6-hexanediol and hydrobormic acid (48%). The procedure I am following is,
1) Charge 1 mol 1,6-hexanediol to reactor followed by 8 equivalents of aq. HBr (48%) and heating the mass to reflux for 4 Hr.
2)Cool the mass to RT ,extract with benzene wash benzene layer with aq.NaOH followed by aq.HCl and distill off benzene on Rotavap. The product obtained shows 95% purity on GC (area%) is it 1,6-dibromohexane?
I have plenty of aq HBr lying at my end so im not planning to use any other reagents for that. Can somebody guide me....
please

Thanks for reading
Nicodem
Super Moderator
Thread Moved
25-8-2014 at 21:26
blogfast25
International Hazard

[*] posted on 26-8-2014 at 04:06

Compare peak position on GC with a certified sample of 1,6-dibromo hexane.

Determine BP, MP and density of your product, compare to lit values.

Take IR spectrum and compare to database spectrum of 1,6-dibromo hexane.

Paddywhacker
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 26-8-2014 at 04:37

Quote: Originally posted by aroma princess  
Dear all...:) I am a newbie here...I am trying to synthesize 1,6-dibromohexane using 1,6-hexanediol and hydrobormic acid (48%). The procedure I am following is,
1) Charge 1 mol 1,6-hexanediol to reactor followed by 8 equivalents of aq. HBr (48%) and heating the mass to reflux for 4 Hr.
2)Cool the mass to RT ,extract with benzene wash benzene layer with aq.NaOH followed by aq.HCl and distill off benzene on Rotavap. The product obtained shows 95% purity on GC (area%) is it 1,6-dibromohexane?
I have plenty of aq HBr lying at my end so im not planning to use any other reagents for that. Can somebody guide me....
please

Thanks for reading