Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: microscope
The_Simpsons
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 11-12-2005 at 12:25
microscope

im 16 and im developing a huge interest in microbiology, and im thinking in buying a microscope, but they can be quite expensive, my question is: how strong microscope do you need to be able to see bacteria and unicelluar eukaryotes(sp?). i know the size can vary greatly, but im mostly interested in the bacillus-type. so im looking for something affordable but that lives up for my needs.
Chris The Great
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 11-12-2005 at 15:00

I have limited experience with microscopes, but have had a very nice (and expensive one) for some time.

I learned that quality makes a HUGE difference. I had an old microscope from a kit from a science store before it and although it went up to 900x you could barely see anything, focusing was nearly impossible etc. I got a new one for christmas, unsure of the price (looks expensive) and it madea HUGE difference. You can see cells and such and it is really cool. The cheap one barely saw anything at all.

So you'll probably want to look for something used. But do not just buy a cheapy one because it is cheap, there is a reason it is cheap and you probably won't see anything you are looking for.

I am not sure of the magnification you will need. Just that magnification means nothing if the lenses suck.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
chemoleo
Biochemicus Energeticus

Mood: crystalline

[*] posted on 12-12-2005 at 11:08

I agree with Chris.

Regarding microscopy of bacteria - that will always be difficult. You'll never get to see bacteria at as high a resolution as mammalian cells, simply because they are much smaller.
At maximum resolution (500x), using a professional microscope, bacteria were barely visible blobs, while insect cells were as big as your thumbnail at armslength way.