Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Synthesis of DDT?
Sev
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 4-6-2006 at 02:18
Synthesis of DDT?

After getting attacked my mosquitos yet again in my house, with the Mosquito Onslaught only beginning, I decided I wanted to try to do something about it. I want to synthesize and paint the walls of my freaking room with DDT. On the other hand, I have zero organic chem experience.

Anyone got a rundown of the synthesis I can follow?
garage chemist
chemical wizard

[*] posted on 4-6-2006 at 03:18

DDT is made by condensing chloral with chlorobenzene in the presence of Oleum or chlorosulfonic acid. On Lambdasyn there's a description of the synthesis. It's actually quite straightforward when you have the chems... and getting those is the real problem.

You'd be better off by making HCH (hexachlorocyclohexane, known under various trade names such as Lindan), the chems for which are easier to get.
It is made by chlorinating benzene at its boiling point under irradiation with a strong light source and in the strict absence of friedel- crafts catalysts such as Fe or Al. The product is a solid and crystallizes upon cooling if the synthesis was successful.
For benzene, look up the thread on it here, it is easy to make.
Chlorine too.

www.versuchschemie.de
Das aktivste deutsche Chemieforum!
The_Davster
A pnictogen

Mood: .

[*] posted on 4-6-2006 at 10:01

Oleum or chlorosulfonic acid are not really necessary, I have a method from a lab book which just uses conc sulfuric. It is attached.

Are you sure you did not mean DEET; N,N-diethyltoluamide? This would be easy as well to make, but one of the precursors, diethylamine is heavily watched because it can be used for making LSD. You also would need toluyl chloride, but I don't think it is heavily watched.

DDT synth.JPG - 151kB

unionised
International Hazard

[*] posted on 4-6-2006 at 10:14