Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Good Chemical Respirator for Home Labs?
AMchemistry
Harmless

Mood: Happy

smile.gif posted on 15-3-2015 at 16:15
Good Chemical Respirator for Home Labs?

I have a home lab and recently acquired strong acids. Whats a good Chemical respiratory less than 50$?

-AMchemistry
Metacelsus
International Hazard

Mood: Double, double, toil and trouble

[*] posted on 15-3-2015 at 16:23

Most cheap respirators are actually filter masks, and only protect against particulates, not fumes. I'm not sure you can find any bona fide respirators/gas masks for under $50. You might be able to make a small fume hood for that cheap, depending on where you get parts.

As below, so above.

My blog: https://denovo.substack.com
Zombie
Forum Hillbilly

Mood: I just don't know...

[*] posted on 15-3-2015 at 16:41

I have been working with strong vaporous chemicals for 43 years. Around 10 years ago I found these...

http://www.gemplers.com/product/181369/Sundstrom-Basic-Pack-...

Wholesale they cost me about 35 bucks for the kit. They take specific cartridges for your application, ie: strong acids, multi vaporous chemicals, ect...

I know you can't do better for the money.

Spray paint a 93' yacht f, that takes four 10 hour days to complete spraying, and you will appreciate what a good mask is. Multiply that times the number of years, and it's easy to grasp the fact that these masks work.

sundstrom-basic-pack-181369-lrg.jpg - 402kB

[Edited on 3-16-2015 by Zombie]

They tried to have me "put to sleep" so I came back to return the favor.
Zom.
Magpie
lab constructor

Mood: Chemistry: the subtle science.

[*] posted on 15-3-2015 at 19:31

Here's one by MSA I bought for use when applying epoxy paint. It uses screw on cartridges for particulates (HEPA) and chemical absorbtion, which are sold separately.

MSA ComfoClassicHalf-MaskRespirator.png - 523kB