Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: I need some clarification on the Texas DPS glassware permit...
nuchem
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 7-8-2015 at 07:18
I need some clarification on the Texas DPS glassware permit...

So recently, I have decided that I do not want to roll around in the middle of the night wondering if I am going to be raided or not. I have not done anything illegal, but there is still that thought in the back of my mind, that "what if." So, I have decided to apply for the lab glassware permit. While I was going through it I noticed that the main brunt of the application was suited for "Business." I do not own a business, I am a simple hobby chemist...

Here is the link to the actual application
http://dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/NAR-121.pdf

Does anyone know if there is a separate application for the individual? Or is there just some fancy way that I need to fill this thing out?

(P.S. I have looked at the other post regarding this question, I did not find anything that directly addresses it.)
annaandherdad
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 7-8-2015 at 07:47

The list is interesting. The amateur chemist wouldn't need most of the restricted chemicals, but the equipment restrictions are ridiculous. I'm reminded of the fact that possessing burglar tools is illegal (never mind whether you use them), unless you're a certified locksmith or something. The impending regulations in the EU are worse IMHO. Dealing with a faceless bureaucracy doesn't give you any advantages. As for applications for an individual, can you just ask them? I'd also ask them if there is an avenue for appeal. If you're turned down you might have some success with legal help (expensive, I know). Unfortunately amateur chemistry doesn't have much political power (ie no one cares). Good luck.

Any other SF Bay chemists?
WGTR
National Hazard

Mood: Outline

[*] posted on 7-8-2015 at 08:03