Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Lasers....and dots?
jgourlay
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 12-8-2015 at 14:40
Lasers....and dots?

When I was but a tadpole, my school had a HeNe laser. The teacher, who really liked me, would let me play with it at will and I did. A lot.

One of things I did all the time was to shine this beast through various lenses and look at the result on the wall. The result, always, was an evenly colored red spot of differing diameters. Let me be very clear: the spot, whether it was a pin point or the size of a volleyball, was ALWAYS a featureless reddish circle.

Come to the future. I know own several cheap chinese laser pointers. The other day I was on the-most-boring-conference-call-in-human-history. I started playing with the lasers and a couple of magnifying glasses and found something I can't explain.

Dots. Dots in the laser. A couple of features of these dots.

1. As the magnification increases, the dot spacing increases. Kind like drawing dots on a balloon, and then putting in more air. The dots themselves, however, are always pin-pricks not matter the magnification or distance to wall.
2. Rubbing, scrubbing, water, and lens cleaner have zero impact on the dots. If they are some kind of lens contamination, they are on the back side of the lens.
3. They are also sharp, pin point, and clear. If I sprinkle dust into the laser, I get more dots. But these dirt dots expand and shrink with distance to the wall. The laser dots THEMSELVES are always a bright pin prick. All magnification does is change the spacing between them.
4. The dot pattern is not on the magnifiers. All magnifiers have the same pattern. Alternately, I can shine the raw laser at the wall, and look at the 'beam spot' with the magnifer, and see the same dot pattern.
5. One of these lasers, when magnified, shows not only dots, but what look just like picture book examples of 'interference patterns'.

What are these dots?
woelen