Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Thought from "Fisher esterificatioon of ethylene glycol"
Cou
National Hazard

Mood: Mad Scientist

[*] posted on 3-11-2015 at 15:01
Thought from "Fisher esterificatioon of ethylene glycol"

WARNING: I am a noob at organic chemistry.

For this example, I will use acetic acid and ethylene glycol.

This is the ester that I predict would result from a fisher esterification with those 2 compounds:
KuoDZ7R.png - 2kB

However, that ethylene glycol remnant still has an alcohol group at the other end! This is what I predict you could do with that alcohol group:

1. Do another fisher esterification with acetic acid, making a 2-sided ester:
nNFOwmQ.png - 3kB

2. Dehydration of the ester with sulfuric acid and ethylene glycol to extend the alcohol chain:
IOqxgQZ.png - 2kB

Would these organic reactions actually take place?

[Edited on 3-11-2015 by Cou]
Oscilllator
National Hazard

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-11-2015 at 16:10

I too am a noob at organic chemistry but I'm pretty sure the "dehydration" stage wouldn't happen.
What you've actually written down there is the ketone group on the end there getting reduced and the methyl group on the end getting oxidised to an alcohol. I don't really see how it's possible for both of these reactions to occur at once, but like I said I am a noob so I could well be wrong.

Perhaps one of the moderators would be so kind as to chip in as they move this to beginnnings? *cough Nicodem cough*
Ozone
International Hazard

Mood: Integrated

[*] posted on 3-11-2015 at 17:39

That is a proper ester, RCOOR', not a ketone, RCOR'. I imagine with a trace of acid, you'd get mixed esters. With a 4x mole equivalent of conc. sulfuric, you might get an ungodly gunge containing an equilibrium mixture of PEG-acetates, PEGs and tar. Push it harder, and you might also add mixed olefins to the mix, as well. Then...carbon--this stuff won't be volatile like diethyl ether.