Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Chili peper extraction
NEMO-Chemistry
International Hazard

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 29-5-2016 at 17:42
Chili peper extraction

Hi
I am pretty new to chemistry and so far have managed to get along with the help of google!

I havnt done very much so far and mainly this is due to a lack of equipment, I am very very slowly collecting glassware as I go.

My very noob question relates to a post I found on here regarding extracting the components of chili peppers. I didnt really find any answer to if its possible to extract the capsacin?? from the other components. The thread indicated it was difficult to obtain anything but the red oil like mixture.

My apologize I thought I had bookmarked the page!! it appears I didnt and I cant find it now.

I have several questions on the extraction based on various threads I have read on here and elsewhere.

Is it best to dry the peppers first?
Some reading has thrown up both arguments for and against this, so I am not sure if drying the chili first would destroy any of the compounds in the pepper?

What would the best way be to extract the stronger elements from the peppers?

I will leave the questions there for now but I have others, sorry I dont have the pages I have been reading. I updated firefox and seem to have lost my bookmarks!

I have basic distillation equipment but not many solvents, the ones I have are Ethanol, Methanol, IPA, Water, Chloroform that I recently made.

I was wondering if steam distillation would be the best way to go then follow this by solvent or AB extraction on the material left?

My main hobby has been RC Planes for a couple of years, and most of my chemistry interest revolves around that.