Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: distant lessons on chemistry
Chemon_84
Unregistered

[*] posted on 30-7-2016 at 13:39
distant lessons on chemistry

Hello!
I am a college teacher. I took a PhD degree on chemistry and molecular biology in Germany. Since 2012 I have been carrying on courses in chemistry for senior high school children in Russia. The main aim of the courses is a preparation to the Unified state exam. The lessons are arranged both in person and distantly so the school children who are from remote (rural) areas are able to take the part. During the classes we spend most of the time on solving practical problems (investigate various reactions, calculate reactants and final products, chemical kinetics and others). The classes have tangible effect on the school results of the children who are involved in ones.
Now I plan to arrange such courses for foreign school children. At first the amount of participants would not be more than ten. My primary aim here is taking a practice experience and to understand differences between Russian and foreign study programs.
I would like to take answers on the following questions:
1. Is there a demand in such lessons outside Russia?
2. What is your personal attitude to the distant education?
3. How can I find participants?
Thank you in advance!
DraconicAcid
International Hazard

Mood: Semi-victorious.

[*] posted on 30-7-2016 at 13:49

I occasionally find myself teaching a similar distance course, either for adults in rural areas, or those who work and can't attend classes during the day. It is not my favourite mode of course delivery. There is a demand for it. However, I suspect that you will only get students from Russian-aligned countries. I can see Georgian and Belorussian students signing up for that, but most European students would prefer to get their education from the west (Putin's policies have done quite a number on European Russophilia).

Please remember: "Filtrate" is not a verb.