Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Can you help Identify these chems? May be a nice find!
caffiendo
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

shocked.gif posted on 5-12-2006 at 08:24
Can you help Identify these chems? May be a nice find!

My friend's dad passed away and after cleaning out his basement, we came across an old chem set that was coveren in probably 30+ years of dust. After some cleaning and looking through the remaining chems, I have come up with a list of chems that I can determine. I believe that these may have been part of a large "chemistry set purchase" back in the day. I would say that there is a fair amount (100g-1kg of each substance). I have some chem background from some general classes in college, but would like to get some more info. I think some of these sound pretty interesting :) :P I marked the ones that I think I've seen as "special" before, so info on these would help..

Can any of these go bad over time?

-Potassium Nitrate (empty)
-Yellow powder (very fine powder, maybe 600 mesh)
**-Sodium ThioSulfate NaS2O3.5H2O F.W. (larger crystals)
-Sodium Chloride NaCl
-Zinc, Technical Mossy Zn (chunks of metal, melted droppings,15mm thick x 23mm long rod)
-Nickelous Sulfate Crytal, Niso4.6H2O
-Black powder, some larger chunks the size og small gravel. Possibly charcoal
**-Potassium Iodide
-Calcium Chloride (Anhydrous Lump) CaCl2 (this now has a liquid on top of the powder/crystals)
-Boric Acid, Crystals H3BO3 (White powder, some clumping)
-Azurite 2CuCO3Cu(CH)2 (blue/green or carribean blue powder, some small clumps)
**-Oxalic Acid H2C2O4.2H2O (white crystals)
*-Citric Acid, 'Baker' Anhydrous Powder” (White “sugar-like” texture)
-KOH Pellets (Hard white pellets)
-Manganese Dioxide MnO2 (fine black powder)
-Ferrous sulfate
**-Potassium Permaganate

Full container
-Lead Oxide, Fine yellow powder (which looks orange to me) PbO
-Sodium Bicarbonate Powder NaHCO3 (White fine powder)