Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Opinions on this HBr synth
Norepi
Harmless

Mood: Happy to be a part of this forum

[*] posted on 19-4-2017 at 03:21
Opinions on this HBr synth

This is my first post... albeit that doesn't really concern this synthesis.

I want to synthesize HBr and I'm leaning towards this reaction:
PBr3 + 3HOH -> H3PO3 + 3HBr
based off of these two texts (which I'll link at the end of this post), it appears that I could even use phosphorus triiode to obtain hydrogen iodide via the same route.
Anyways I'm considering follow this diagram, however it seems flawed. [picture is from the second link]
pBr3 diagram.png - 233kB

First off, it's worth mentioning that I've never used an apparatus like this before, but yet I think his apparatus is flawed. HBr will only form as the final step if there is no air present, so it's baffling to me that he doesn't have a vacuum pump to eliminate the presence of air.
His method using two sets of equations intrigues me. Nevertheless, what do you guys make of this?

https://books.google.com/books?id=Mtth5g59dEIC&pg=PA432&...

https://books.google.com/books?id=_A5DAAAAIAAJ&pg=PA262&...
Dr.Bob
International Hazard

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 19-4-2017 at 04:04