Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Lidocaine HCl synthesis
tox662
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 21-4-2017 at 05:18
Lidocaine HCl synthesis

I recently got a hold of some lab grade Lidocaine powder, and was going to try to make Lidocaine HCl. So I simply have to perform this reaction, I will also add I am using lab grade HCl.

C14H22N2O + HCl -> C14H23ClN2O

There will likely be some leftover acid, so I will wash with distilled water and neutralize with sodium bicarbonate solution, which will leave me with water, lidocaine HCl, and a small amount of contaminant NaCl.

I am very new to organic chemistry so I have a few questions about this reaction.

1. What type of reaction is this? is it exothermic/endothermic? Would I need to perform it under any specific temperature conditions?

2. Is there a reason I would not want to add the lidocaine directly to the HCl in a 1:1 ratio? Would the lidocaine need to be in some sort of solution?

My goal is to make medical grade lidocaine HCl that could be safely injected as a local anesthetic. Thank you for your assistance.
Praxichys
International Hazard

Mood: Coprecipitated

[*] posted on 21-4-2017 at 06:40

1. Exothermic. Thermal controls will only be necessary of you're making a whole lot with very concentrated solutions. Don't worry about it.

2. You need to combine them in a 1:1 molar ratio. Make sure you know what that means. Pure lidocaine freebase has low solubility in water and the reaction will be a big mess if you try to directly combine the two.

I recommend making a solution of the lidocaine in a low-boiling nonpolar solvent like dichloromethane, chloroform, or petroleum ether. Gas this solution with HCl and the lidocaine HCl will fall out of the solution as filterable crystals, which will dry quickly after filtration as the solvent evaporates. Recrystallize from water.