Printable Version  
Author: Subject: CIA Method-- I did use search
Xenodius
Harmless

Mood: On fire for the Lord

wink.gif posted on 12-2-2007 at 18:49
CIA Method-- I did use search

Hey.

I am new to the field of pyrotechnics, and don't know a whole lot except about 6-7 hours of reading on the subject, 1 year of college chemistry, (We barely touched solutions/precipitates/solubility, so this stuff here is beyond me) and what I know through friends.

Problems:

1) Its called the CIA Method... Good luck Googling it.

2) It didn't work when I followed the general steps given by a friend I know: "The "CIA method" involves dissolving the salt of the pyrotechnic mixture in water then adding it to the insoluble ingredients. Cooled isopropyl alcohol is then added to precipitate the salt out and onto your insoluble ingredients, "plastering" the salt all over the place. The aim is to better mix the stuff together so it reacts faster."

To me, "cool" is 4-5 celcius. Nothing happened when I added a nearly-saturated solution of CuCl2 to some smokeless powder and then added the isopropyl alcohol. I am interested as well in precipitating the CuCl2, period since the method I use to make mine leaves it in a fairly low concentration of solution, and unless its in front of a fireplace or something it takes ages to evaporate. (My mom hates that, its smelly... I am 15, if you were wondering) so any help on that aspect would also be appreciated.

What I am asking: Can anyone give more exact steps/hits/tips on the CIA method? I will be making a lot of a KN03 + Al mixture very soon and would love to add some colorants to it, and buying LiC03 is a lot more than making CuCl2. :D

Sounds like it works well for precipitating any salt out of a solution too, so I think I will use it for simply replacing long evaporation times. :D

[Edited on 13-2-2007 by Xenodius]

[Edited on 13-2-2007 by Xenodius]

bereal511
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 12-2-2007 at 19:50