Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: hemicellulose solvents, glycerine and alkali react?
semiconductive
Hazard to Others

Mood: Explorative

[*] posted on 15-3-2018 at 14:56
hemicellulose solvents, glycerine and alkali react?

I've been trying to dissolve hemi-cellulose from wood. I'm studying solvents to learn about wood preservation in musical instruments. The wood used in Stradavarius violins, for example, are famous for sound known to be caused (partially) by wood preservatives that remove certain wood sugars. I don't expect to create a Stradivarius, but I'd like to understand the chemistry better.

If you don't need background information on wood sugar and solvent experiments ... then skip down to where I've marked questions (Q1-Q4) at the left hand side of the text.
You can always come back and read my long explanation of existing experiments later, if the the questions don't make sense to you.

I found (online) a large number of studies about separation of wood/plant cellulose from lignin and hemi-cellulose. Those are the three major polymers found in wood. The studies I found are mostly interested in producing bio-fuels and completely destroying the plant material; however, I only need to remove hemi-cellulose. That's the weak part of wood that dampens sound and makes wood prone to rot and fungus. I don't need to decompose all the wood nor do it quickly.

But ... I'm still having trouble even verifying experimental trends discovered in the bio-fuels studies; because bio fuel studies don't need intact wood during or after processing, but I do.

I'd appreciate some advice about designing experiments to accurately estimate quantities of wood sugars dissolved when the wood is not ground up before the experiment. eg: I'm only interested in chemical attacks on solid wood which minimally harm lignin and cellulose.