Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: hydrogenolysis with lithium aluminium hydride
alittlebitcrazy
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 2-7-2018 at 17:28
hydrogenolysis with lithium aluminium hydride

LiAlH4 can be used to reduce a formyl(aldehyde) group into a methyl group? and basically do hydrogenolysis by replacing the oxygen attached to the carbon with hydrogen?.
i downloaded an article that talk about turning a formyl group in some compound into methyl group by reduction with LiAlH4 but when reading on reduction with LiAlH4 i only managed to read about reduction of ketons and aldehydes into alcohols. does the scientists behind the article done something special with the LiAlH4?.

sorry if i have some mistakes here, i don't have formal or any serious knowledge in chemistry and i am just an amateur chemist.
SWIM
National Hazard

[*] posted on 2-7-2018 at 20:59

What's that formyl group attached too?
Maybe an amine?

Is the amine beta to an aromatic group by any chance?

By the way, how are you going to get LAH when you have problems getting nitric acid according to your earlier posts?

LAH tends to be harder to get than nitric acid.

At least it is around here.

[Edited on 3-7-2018 by SWIM]

JJay
International Hazard

[*] posted on 2-7-2018 at 22:06

I don't think LiAlH4 reduces typical aldehydes and ketones to alkanes... I think it reduces them to alcohols. The usual means of reducing aldehydes and ketones to alkanes are the Wolff-Kishner reduction and the Clemmensen reduction. Neither requires anything that you can't lay your hands on as an amateur, but both involve rather toxic substances; the Wolff-Kishner is probably more environmentally friendly.

Chemi Pharma
Hazard to Others

Mood: Quarantined

[*] posted on 2-7-2018 at 23:01

I agree with all @JJay have written above, and add that some aryl ketones and alcohols can be reduced to methylenic groups with NaBH4 and TFA, or AlCl3.

[Edited on 3-7-2018 by Chemi Pharma]
alittlebitcrazy
Harmless