Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Solventless methylation with dimethyloxalate
lowtech
Harmless

Mood: reactive

[*] posted on 1-8-2018 at 14:09
Solventless methylation with dimethyloxalate

Hi. Im new here, but it´s a long time that im studying organic chemistry and in my free time doing some experiments occasionally, i really like chemistry and possibilities of making new useful substances. Method im presenting here isnt obviously suitable for more complicated substrates with ester or halogen moieties, which could be destroyed by high temperatures and basic enviroment. Further experimenting should be done on this reaction, but i dont have any more suitable substrates. For methylating simple phenols, or tiophenols this method offers solvent free conditions, avoiding nasty and carcinogenic reagents like DMS or MeI, except the toxic methanol use, and offers very simple work-up with steam distillation of a product. Yields vary from good to low (22-77 %). Also my english isnt very good, so im sorry about that :) .

It is a long time that i was trying to methylate one substrate (2-mercaptohydroquinone), but all my attempts failed because of my lowtech home equipment and lack of appropriate reagents. Firstly, i was trying to use methyl chloride/acetone/NaI/K2CO3 approach, but the reaction never goes to completion and it was extremely slow. Discouraged i started to browse internet and reaxys about OTC methods to methylate hydroxy groups without DMS or MeI, and found method using MeBr on this forum, and also a methods using dimethyl carbonate, trimethylphosphite and trimethylsulfonium bromide. Because i dont have access to many chemicals, only methyl bromide method seemed promising, so i gave it a go. And story about my stupidity started here... :(